Mature Students’ Spotlight

red-couple-night-romantic-large

It has been a busy fresher’s period, and I have been delighted to have met so many mature students from a wide variety of ages and of different backgrounds during my first few weeks in post. There was an amazing turn out of mature students at the fresher’s fair and it is encouraging seeing so many mature students entering or returning to education.

I have just started an undergraduate degree in Mental Health Nursing BSc so I will be around for the next three years. In some ways I am lucky as I am familiar with the campus, having already completed a previous degree here at DMU.  Being a mature student at university can be daunting and initially I was worried about how this would impact upon my student experience, for example making friends and fitting in with younger peers. However, I found that the university has a diverse student population and far from being in the minority around one third of students at DMU are aged 21 and over.

I applied for the front runner internship as I wanted to actively promote the engagement of all undergraduate mature students during their time at DMU. Therefore, my role involves working with university to enhance the mature student experience and I am pleased to announce some events which are running in the next month.

The first event that I will be running is the Cheese and Wine evening in the Heritage centre on Thursday 10th November from 6.30-8pm. This is a ticket only event and I look forward to meeting some of you there.

I have been working in collaboration with the Student Union to hold a family friendly event prior to Christmas. This will be held on November 27th and is a “breakfast with Santa” at Palmers garden centre in Enderby.

In addition, there is also the weekly drop in café which is held by the Mature Students Society. This is held every Wednesday in the Art Factory between 1230-230pm. The café is free and is a great forum for people to come and discuss any problems they may be having, or simply make new friends and see a friendly face.

I look forward to writing more blogs and hope to see some of you at the events or mature student café drop in sessions.

Lindsay Greaves, Mature Student Project Officer

Leave a Reply

